Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Tusting Messenger Brief

Tusting Messenger Brief
Average Customer Rating:
4.368 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
17 of 19(89%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tusting Messenger Brief
Review 1 for Tusting Messenger Brief
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Finest Quality
Date:January 2, 2011
By papa
from Chicago, Ill
Function:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The best purchase I ever made 13 years ago, and I still use it today. The craftmanship is second to none, ease of entry, comfortable to carry either by handle or shoulder strap. I would recomend this briefcase to any professional executive that is looking for style and class as well as functionality."
Gender: Male
Uses this product for: Everyday Work
Age: 55 - 64
Occupation: Executive/Management
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tusting Messenger Brief
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not just a man's bag!
Date:July 9, 2011
By RoadWarrior
from St. George, UT
Function:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The size and weight and organizational pockets are perfect if you carry a lightweight computer. I'm an older female road warrior and this bag is perfect with my 3 lb Sony Vaio. The open back pocket efficently holds airline tickets and ID while the light weight compliments my travel style. The entire case with computer, travel stick, mouse, MP3, pens, notepad, phone and a bottle of water come in under 9 lbs. My only dissappointment is that he flaps tend to curl up."
Gender: Female
Uses this product for: Business Travel
Age: 55 - 64
Occupation: Marketing/Sales
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
nickname
Fort Lauderdale
The straps that close flap
Posted August 19, 2011
these can be removed from the buckle, turned over, and re buckled. After this they will remain uncurled for a long time. Car vandals got my Livingstone, so I'm back in the market.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Tusting Messenger Brief
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Briefcase
Date:March 21, 2012
By piper
from Minneapolis, MN
Function:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have been sing this bag for 10 years now. Purchased what was then called the Barrister's Brief Bag. Photos appear identical to this bag. Excellent craftmanship throughout; storage space is more than adequate for daily needs, though I require a second/larger case on a regular basis for my work.
Only reason I did not give 5 stars for quality is due to the brass clips and hooks for the shoulder strap. Over time the softness of the brass has caused the hooks to wear away. Until I can find a way to replace them without the stiching and beautiful leather being destroyed, I have to cary the bag using the handle. Otherwise, the weight of a full bag will cause the fatigued metal of the shoulder strap to give way and send the bag and my laptop crashing to the ground. If not for the inability to use the strap, this would still be a perfect bag after 10 years of continuous use.
"
Gender: Male
Uses this product for: Everyday Work
Age: 55 - 64
Occupation: Legal
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tusting Messenger Brief
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Functional and beautiful
Date:July 14, 2012
By NJCrafters
from Beaumont, TX
Function:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Received this as a gift two years ago. So beautiful I was afraid to use it. However, I am glad to say that I have dutifully carried it back and forth to work for two years now and it still looks as good as the day I received it. Classic bag that is large enough for routine document toting. I would recommend it to anyone looking for an impressive piece to travel in style. Functional and beautiful - what a great combination!"
Gender: Male
Uses this product for: Everyday Work
Age: 35 - 44
Occupation: Executive/Management
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tusting Messenger Brief
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product - but tall people be aware!
Date:September 13, 2012
By Esquire
from Minneapolis, MN
Function:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bought this bag for my fiance when he got his Ph.D. and, we were both very happy with the construction and look of what came (minor hardware issue, but Levenger's been great about handling with replacement parts/product).
However, a word of caution: for a bag that's billed as a "messenger", the strap is too short for my 6'4" fiance to wear across his body comfortably. I called Levenger about the issue and was told the strap is the same length for all Cambridge bags, so there's no way to get a longer one. As a standard shoulder strap everything works fine, but I expected something longer (or that would at least expand to longer) in a messenger bag. This probably wouldn't be an issue for average to shorter-height customers, but we'll have to make a decision about keeping the bag when it can't be worn as intended."
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Response from Levenger:By Chris Thurston, CSR IILevengerSeptember 17, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that the Cambridge Messenger Brief has not worked out completely for your fiancé. I will send you a direct email on how we can take care of this for you. I will also forward your comments along to our Product Development & Design Team.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Esquireagain
Minneapolis, MN
Update - No longer feel this is a great product
Posted September 24, 2013
I originally wrote this review only a couple of weeks after purchasing the bag. A few weeks later, a brass pin to secure one of the front straps came off. I called Levenger about sending a replacement, and they looked into sending new hardware, but it wasn't an option. They graciously offered to replace the bag. We did a bag exchange, and then a few months later the exact same thing happened. We haven't requested a new bag again - although maybe we should! I don't know if we've gotten a series of lemons or what, but as much as both my now-husband and I love the look and interior of this bag for him and want it to be something that will last a lifetime, it just doesn't seem to be cut out for it.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Tusting Messenger Brief
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Choice
Date:November 22, 2012
By DReview
Function:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Was originally eyeing the Cambridge Briefbag, but was in the store in DC and saw this one. As my "gear" has been shrinking (lighter laptops, etc.) I have been looking for a slimmer bag to use day-to-day while still having ample room to carry a laptop, Circa binder and ipad. This is the perfect size and functions great.
Quality is first rate and it gets lots of compliments. In fact, I've had three different people comment on it in the first couple of weeks. It scuffs easily, but because the leather is died all the way through, the scuffs rub right out with your finger. If you like the "worn-in", rugged look, just let the scuffs accumulate.
I've found that Chelsea Leather Food (by Caswell & Co from England) does an excellent job of refreshing the leather, and maintains the orginal waxy coating the Tusting bags come with.
Highly recommend on functionality, quality and style. Go for it..."
Gender: Male
Uses this product for: Everyday Work
Age: 45 - 54
Occupation: Executive/Management
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tusting Messenger Brief
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Bag
Date:January 2, 2013
By Tarheel
from Raleigh, NC
Function:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I wanted this bag for a long time, but was too cheap to pay the full price. So instead, I bought three different bags over a two-year period, only to be disappointed in them. Finally, my wife just ordered me this bag.
It's worth the money - just get it.
The quality is ridiculous, the style is spot-on, and everyone comments about how nice it is, which is not something that happened with my previous bags.
My only quibble is the length of the strap, as others have already pointed out. It is *just* long enough for my taste, and I'm not that tall. (5'10"). I hope the designers will offer a few more inches in the future.
But overall, this is a great bag. Get it, be happy, stop buying lousy bags."
Gender: Male
Uses this product for: Everyday Work
Age: 25 - 34
Occupation: Legal
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tusting Messenger Brief
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good ... not great
Date:January 4, 2013
By PerpetualStudent
Function:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I recently received this bag as a gift after completing my Ph.D. It is truly gorgeous. The leather is rich and supple, and it is clear that it is going to wear well. When I began using it, I was also pleased to find that it accommodates 13" MacBook Pro even when it is in a protective sleeve. In all of these ways I am pleased with the bag and incredibly grateful to have received such a generous gift.
And yet I still have a few complaints. My major complaint, which others have also expressed, is that the strap is simply too short. I'm about 6'4" and the strap works okay if I wear it on one shoulder, but when I try to wear it across my body the bag rides in the middle of my rib cage. (Since this is the way that a messenger bag is typically worn, I wonder if the bag's name isn't a misnomer.) I had derived a bit of hope the response that a customer service agent had given to an earlier comment complaining about the length of the strap, which suggested that there may be a remedy. Unfortunately, when I called customer service, they told me that my only choices were to keep the bag with the shortened strap or to return it. Neither seems like a satisfactory resolution to me.
Ultimately, I think that this is a very, very good bag. But until it is more suited for tall users, I for one won't be able to declare it great."
Gender: Male
Uses this product for: School
Age: 25 - 34
Occupation: Education
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tusting Messenger Brief
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic Bag
Date:January 31, 2013
By Holly
from Boston, MA
Function:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I ordered this briefcase for my boyfriend last Christmas and it was a HUGE hit. It's extremenly functional, fits everything he needs to tote around town and has worn beautifully over the last year. This is truly a quality product. Hopefully the matching Cambridge Explorer travel bag will go on sale and he'll be all set for his business travels. Thanks Levenger!"
Gender: Female
Uses this product for: Everyday Work
Age: 25 - 34
Occupation: Business and Financial Operations
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tusting Messenger Brief
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Professional and stylish and functional
Date:May 14, 2013
By CubaLibre
from Wolfeboro, NH
Function:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My wife bought me this brief for my 'going back to work' present. I immediatley thought that she had spent close to a $1000 due to how clean and well built this brief looks. The closer you look the more detail jumps out. It is as well built as a nice luxry car yet the value for dollar is outstanding in my eye.
Anyone who purchases a brief deom Levenger should have the confidence that people will see a business tool that has style, class and funtion yet is not flashy or come across as needing to carry a LV brief for the initials.
Pure class and highly professional. Well done Levenger. I will purchase my son and dughter Levenger briefs when they graduate from college."
Gender: Male
Uses this product for: Everyday Work
Age: 45 - 54
Occupation: Marketing/Sales
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Tusting Messenger Brief
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
what i needed
Date:May 25, 2013
By jkirk
from Wisconsin
Function:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I reviewed many bags and took a few months to decide on this purchase.
This bag is incredibly well made. It is classy and professional as well. It is worth the price for sure!
Many of my friends are envious!!
I plan on buying another one as a gift for my son when he finishes his PhD.
"
Gender: Male
Uses this product for: Everyday Work
Age: 55 - 64
Occupation: Executive/Management
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Tusting Messenger Brief
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rugged, sophisticated, manly bag
Date:May 25, 2013
By James
from Los Angeles CA
Function:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I love this messenger bag and I loved it more once I realize the bag was a darker brown than the picture indicated. I looked at a lot of messenger bags and wanted one with a handle and a leather strap. Some of the reviews indicate that the strap is too short. I'm 5'9" and the strap works fine for me across body or over the shoulder. It is also comfortable. The pockets themselves are organized well and I can fit in different size journals and a 13 inch MacAir notebook (bigger sizes should not be a problem). This bag signifies confidence and a style that resonates with me as I dislike briefcases. The dark brown leather is nice to the touch, and the canvas lining is a nice compliment. The hardware is also well designed. I'm a professor so the bag can swing between casual and formal and I compliment with a Bomber Jacket folio and journal."
Gender: Male
Uses this product for: Everyday Work
Age: 35 - 44
Occupation: Education
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Tusting Messenger Brief
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gorgeous bag
Date:June 17, 2013
By Fun2Sail
from San Francisco, CA
Function:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased this bag for my girlfriend as a Law School graduation gift. It is honestly the nicest leather I've ever seen in a briefcase — absolute quality. The bag is the perfect size for her (she's average height): it's slim, has clean lines, and is is the perfect weight (not too heavy, but not "cheap" feeling, either). It's perfect for stowing a laptop and a few files. She loves it and now I wish I had one, too!"
Uses this product for: Everyday Work
Occupation: Legal
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Tusting Messenger Brief
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tusting Messenger Brief
Date:October 6, 2013
By rexmer
from Nashville, TN
Function:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Great product. The quality is amazing. The size is a bit smaller than I thought but overall a great brief."
Gender: Male
Uses this product for: Everyday Work
Age: 45 - 54
Occupation: Executive/Management
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Tusting Messenger Brief
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sold Purchase
Date:October 13, 2013
By DrJay
from Costa Mesa, CA
Function:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"First impression out of the box was that this is a quality piece. Leather is of good quality and feels good in one's hands. The color is darker than the pictures on the website suggest. After using it for a week, the only problem I have with the bag is the included strap is way too short. I am 5'9 and the straps lack of length makes it sit awkwardly on my back. I would recommend buying the longer strap if you plan to get good use out of this bag. Thank you for your time."
Gender: Male
Uses this product for: Everyday Work
Age: 25 - 34
Occupation: Healthcare
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Tusting Messenger Brief
Overall Rating:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Wish I could be positive
Date:November 2, 2013
By scottyh64
from Lincoln, NE
Function:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value:
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I bought my first Messenger brief in August. After a month of use, the strap rivet pulled out of the top flap. I returned the bag and got a replacement. After using on one business trip, the exact same thing happened. I now have bag #3 in hopes that the issue will not occur again. Overall, I really like the style and functionality. Hopefully it's not 3 strikes and you're out!"
Gender: Male
Uses this product for: Business Travel
Age: 45 - 54
Occupation: Business and Financial Operations
Response from Levenger:By Michelle White, CSRLevengerNovember 5, 2013
Thank you for your review of our Cambridge Messenger Brief. We understand your concern with stability of the handles. Your comments have been forwarded to our product development team for consideration. We apologize for the inconvenience this issue has caused. We always encourage you to contact us directly at 1-800-544-0880, and we’ll do whatever it takes to make it right.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Tusting Messenger Brief
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A terrific Xmas gift
Date:December 4, 2013
By josdh
from New Castle, DE
Function:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"My wife purchased this bag for me for Christmas. So far I love it. It is very handsome, lightweight, and yet surprisingly room inside. Lots of sleeves and pockets to put things in. I teach at a university and this bag makes me feel very professorial."
Gender: Male
Uses this product for: Everyday Work
Age: 55 - 64
Occupation: Education
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Tusting Messenger Brief
Overall Rating:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lovely Bag
Date:December 31, 2013
By Bookseller
from Dallas, TX
Function:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality:
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This bag is beautiful. It is exactly what I was expecting. I gave this bag to my husband for Christmas and he loves it. The only thing I was disappointed by, was the box in which it arrived. A beautiful thing like this deserves to be packed in a box more suitable for gift wrapping and presentation."
Gender: Female
Age: 55 - 64
Occupation: Healthcare
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Tusting Messenger Brief
Overall Rating:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Short lifespan
Date:February 27, 2014
By ldr4
Function:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style:
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value:
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Loved it when I first got it but then the lining started to tear and the buttons that hold the flap down fell off almost every time I opened the briefcase. Eventually they were lost. Looks great but doesn't hold up. I tried to upload photos of the problems but was unable to upload them to this review."
Uses this product for: Everyday Work
Occupation: Legal
Response from Levenger:By Michelle White, CSRLevengerMarch 5, 2014
We appreciate your review of our Cambridge Messenger Brief. We apologize that it was not what you expected. Your concerns have been forwarded to our product development team for review. Customer satisfaction is our #1 Priority, and we offer a 100% guarantee. Please contact our customer service center at 1-800-667-8034 to discuss a resolution.

Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.